The Creative Writing Studies Organization is in the process of establishing itself as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Once approved, the organization’s bylaws and articles of incorporation will appear here, along with the names and titles of the board of directors and committee chairs and the responsibilities of those offices. The CWSO will establish a regular election cycle for board positions. Meeting minutes will also be publicly available on this space.

The below members of the working group will hold the first board positions. The initial board of directors meeting will be held at the Creative Writing Studies Conference in September 2016.

Board of Directors

  • Chair, Stephanie Vanderslice, Professor and Director of Arkansas Writers MFA Workshop, University of Central Arkansas
  • Vice Chair of Publications, James Ryan, Graduate Teaching Assistant in English, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Vice Chair of Membership, Phong Ngyuen, Associate Professor of English, University of Central Missouri
  • Vice Chair of Research & Development, Graeme Harper, Professor and Dean of the Honors College, Oakland University
  • Secretary, Trent Hergenrader, Assistant Professor of English, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Treasurer, Rachel Haley Himmelheber, Assistant Professor and Chair of Undergraduate Writing Program, Warren Wilson College
  • Board member, Darin Ciccotelli, Assistant Professor of Rhetoric and Composition, Soka University
  • Board member, Dianne Donnelly, College of Arts & Sciences Assistant Dean of Research, University of South Florida
  • Board member, Tonya Hegamin, Assistant Professor of English, City University of New York, Medgar Evers College
  • Board member, Tim Mayers, Associate Professor of English, Millersville University
  • Board member, Jen Webb, Distinguished Professor of Creative Practice, University of Canberra

Initial Working Group and Advisors

  • Katharine Haake, Professor of English, California State University, Northridge
  • Jeri Kroll, Professor and Dean of Graduate Research, Flinders University
  • Anna Leahy, Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Research, Chapman University
  • Prageeta Sharma, Professor of English, University of Montana
  • Julie Platt, Assistant Professor of English, University of Arkansas at Monticello
  • Karen Babine, Concordia College